The Career Handbook for Military Veterans

Posted on October 25, 2016 By thesuccessmanual Topic: Remarkable, Handbook

This is your guide to winning the civilian career war. Here is a simple list of the best online job-research/finding tools and advice for military veterans.

[From the 100 Ways To Be Being Remarkable  Series, a special project that brings you business and self-development advice from The Success Manual. ]

Best Organizations and Government Services For Military Veterans
Department of Veterans Affairs http://www.vba.va.gov/bln/vre
Veterans' Service Organizations http://www1.va.gov/vso/index.cfm?template=view
National Committee of Employer Support for the National Guard and Reserve http://www.navoba.com
Veterans' Employment & Training Service http://www.dol.gov/vets
Troops-to-Teachers - tecahing opportunities for veterans http://www.ed.gov/programs/troops/index.html
AMVETS - American Veterans http://www.amvets.org
Military Officers Association of America http://moaa.org
National Veterans Employment Assistance Service from the VFW http://www.archives.gov/global-pages/exit.html?link=http://www.vfwdc.org/NVEO/1employhomepage.htm

Best Blogs On Career options for Military Veterans
ASMBA ( Armed Services Mutual Benefit Association ) Blog http://asmba.typepad.com
The Veterans Blog (written by a disabled veteran) http://usveterans.blogspot.com/2006/10/moph-veterans-business-training-center.html
Veterans Today Network News Blog http://veteranstodaynetwork.blogspot.com
Employers for Veterans http://hireveterans.blogspot.com
Veterans Benefits Advocate http://vetadvo.blogspot.com
Voice of a Veteran http://www.voiceofaveteran.blogspot.com
Oldtimer Speaks Out http://oldtimer.wordpress.com
At Ease! http://veterans.lohudblogs.com

Tips on transition to the civilian life
DoD Transition and Preparation Guides http://www.dodtransportal.dod.mil/dav/lsnmedia/LSN/dodtransportal
Transition to Civilian Life http://www.careeronestop.org/militarytransition/transitionResources.aspx#veterans
The Employee's Guide to Career Transition - From U.S. Office of Personnel Managemen http://www.opm.gov/rif/employee_guides/career_transition.asp
TurboTAP, the official transition assistance program http://www.transitionassistanceprogram.com/register.tpp
Real Military Transition Stories http://transitionstories.military.com/2008/01/index.html

Educational Resources for military veterans
The Fund for Veterans' Education - scholarships for veterans http://www.veteransfund.org
Veterans Upward Bound - a goverbmebt program for military veterans http://navub.org
Educational Resources for Disabled Veterans http://www.dodvets.com/education.asp
College Credit for Military Experience http://education.military.com/timesaving-programs/college-credit-for-military-experience
How to Use Your G. I. Bill http://education.military.com/money-for-school/gi-bill/learn-to-use-your-gi-bill

Tips on post-military job hunting
Real Life Job Hunting: The Story of One Veteran's Career Transition http://www.militaryhire.com/article.servlet?id=26
Career Change Dos and Don't's http://www.quintcareers.com/career_change-dos-donts.html
Getting Out of the Military? Watch Out for Employment Scams http://usmilitary.about.com/od/lifeafterthemilitary/a/jobscam.htm
Opening a Business After Leaving the Military http://usarmypcs.wordpress.com/2008/01/22/opening-a-business-after-leaving-the-military
3 Tips for Veterans on the Job Hunt http://blog.employmentguide.com/archive/artid-142

Resume Tools for military veterans
Make the Transition With a Civilian-Focused Resume http://dallas.jobing.com/blog_post.asp?post=10633
Best Practices in Resume Writing For Veterans http://www.wendyenelow.com/articles/?page_id=22
6 Stealth Military Secrets to Creating an Effective Civilian Resume http://www.veteranstoday.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=2846
10 Resume Tactics for Veterans http://jobs.aol.com/article/_a/10-resume-tactics-for-veterans/20060524144009990010
Creating Resumes for Federal Employment http://www.resumeplace.com/info/veteranspreference.html

Job Sites for Military Veterans
Job Arsenal Blog http://www.jobarsenal.com/blog
New Yoerk Times on Resources for Job Seeking Veterans http://shiftingcareers.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/12/13/resources-for-job-seeking-veterans
Hire A Hero http://www.hireahero.org
MilitaryHire http://www.militaryhire.com
Civilian Jobs.com http://www.civilianjobs.com Jobs
Military Job Zone http://www.militaryjobzone.com
Hire Veterans http://www.hireveterans.com
Hire Vets First http://www.hirevetsfirst.gov
Military Exits http://www.militaryexits.com
Helmets to Hardhats - Jobs in the construction industry http://www.helmetstohardhats.org
The Defense Talent Network -homeland security, aerospace, government and defense http://www.defensetalent.com
MilitaryStars - military job fairs and career expos, military hiring events, and an online job search http://www.militarystars.com
Recruit Military - organization - http://www.recruitmilitary.com
Orion International - organization - http://www.orioninternational.com

Read more useful handbooks   Some more handbooks
Read The Successmanual Online  | Get Our RSS Feed | Follow us on Twitter


The Success Manual Skill Guides


The Career Advice Bible

100+ Most Important Career Questions
Finally Answered

318 Pages | $5 | PDF & EPub, Kindle Ready

250 Top Work & Personal Skills Made Easy

The First & Only Encyclopedia of Self Help,
Self Improvement & Career Advice

250+ Easy-to-Follow Guides
5000+ Proven Tips

13 Types of Essential Skills Covered
Get The Value of 100+ Best Books in 1 Book.

502 Pages | $3.99 | PDF / EPub, Kindle Ready