Countries | Cities | Localities | Groups | Tags | Best of Bighow  
Publish | Join              Login

  Our Blogs  |  BigPedia  | 


 
  the online job hunters handbook 350 websites to find a job in any industry - bighow news

browse news submitted in the last 24 hrs
news


The Online Job Hunter's Handbook: 350+ Websites to find a job in any industry

thesuccessmanual on 24/05/10 city: New-York tags: Internet and Websites remarkable handbook  Comment: 0 Save: 0

This is Part 2 of the Career Handbook series. Read Part 1 here.  This  comprehemsive list features job websites for almost every industry and locality. Please bookmark this for easy access.

[From the 100 Ways To Be Being Remarkable Series, a special project that brings you business and self-development advice from The Success Manual. ]

First let's start with using Google for looking for jobs, followed by using Twitter for searching jobs and then the mega list of job sites.


Useful Google Search Terms for Finding Jobs Online
Look at the queries below and modiify for your industry and required job roles. You will note the preference is set to show 100 results per page.
looking for web designer
freelance programmer job
freelance web developer required
seeking php developer
craigslist web design needed
craigslist web freelance needed

Job Hunting Tip: Get RSS Feeds for Jobs - A time-saving way of loking for jobs is subscribing to RSS feeds of job search websites using RSS readers such as Google Reader. http://reader.google.com. Almost all of the job sites listed below will provide RSS feeds for your specific job searches.

Using Twitter to look for jobs online

Tools for Searching Twitter for Jobs
Twitter Search http://search.twitter.com/
TwitterJobCast http://www.twitterjobcast.com/
TwitterJobSearch http://www.twitterjobsearch.com/
@twithire - Job board service http://www.twitter.com/twithire
@indeed - One search. All jobs http://www.twitter.com/indeed
@jobshouts - General job postings http://www.twitter.com/jobshouts
@simplyhired: Job search site http://www.twitter.com/simplyhired
For Freelance jobs http://twitter.com/freelance_jobs
@JobAngels: Helping the unemployed find jobs http://www.twitter.com/jobangels
@StartUpHire: Jobs at VC backed companies http://www.twitter.com/startuphire
ConnectTweet: See what is going on inside the doors of a potential company, through the Tweets of their employees. http://www.connecttweet.com/
Twellow: Kind of Yellow Pages for Twitter. Use to find people and organizations across indusries and interests. http://www.twellow.com
TwitterFriends: Find similar friends and professionals http://twitter-friends.com/
TweepSearch: Search bios and location information using this tool http://tweepsearch.com/
TwitHire.com http://twithire.com/

Websites for Finding Jobs

General Job Sites

Monster.com http://www.monster.com/
Careerbuilder.com http://www.careerbuilder.com
Yahoo HotJobs http://hotjobs.yahoo.com/
Jobster.com http://www.jobster.com/
Jobbi.com http://www.jobbi.com/
Craigslist.org http://sfbay.craigslist.org/
YorZ.com http://www.yorz.com
Jobfox.com . Give a mini-interview online to find jobs this site thinks you are best suited for. http://www.jobfox.com/Site/Default.aspx
411Jobs http://www.411jobs.net/
Google Directory http://www.google.com/Top/Business/Employment/Job_Search/
U.S. Dept. of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos042.htm

Online Job Listing Aggregators
Indeed http://www.indeed.com/
SimplyHired.com http://www.simplyhired.com/
WorkTree.com http://www.worktree.com/
FlipDog.com http://www.flipdog.com/
GetTheJob.com http://www.getthejob.com/
LinkUp.com (Monitors the job pages of company websites) http://www.linkup.com/
Jobpile [Aggregates frm other Job Boards] http://artypapers.com/jobpile/
Job Board Link [Links to other good job boards] http://www.jobboardlink.com/

Websites for Teaching Jobs
Clickforlessons.com http://www.clickforlessons.com/ [For private instructors in sports, art, music etc.]
SeriousTeachers.com http://www.seriousteachers.com/
EducationJobs http://www.educationjobs.com/index.php
Academic Careers Online: http://www.academiccareers.com/
Education Jobsite http://www.educationjobsite.com/
Higher Ed Jobs:http://www.higheredjobs.com/
Chronicle of Higher EducationJobs http://chronicle.com/jobs
Academic Keys for Engineering - Teaching positions related to engineering http://engineering.academickeys.com/
H Net- Jobs for humanities and social sciences academics http://www.h-net.org/
BioPortfolio - Jobs in Teaching biology http://www.biojobnetwork.net/
OutdoorEd http://www.outdoored.com/ [Teaching in or about the great outdoors]
GlobalEdge http://globaledge.msu.edu/Academy/JobPostings/index.asp
Education America: http://www.educationamerica.net/
K-12 Jobs: http://www.k12jobs.com/
Teachers Teachers: http://www.teachers-teachers.com/
Education Crossing http://www.educationcrossing.com/
Academic 360: http://www.academic360.com/
AtoZTutoring.com http://www.atoztutoring.com/
BookALesson.com http://www.bookalesson.com/
Find-Guru.com http://find-guru.com/
Ted Job: http://www.tedjob.com/
School Spring: http://www.schoolspring.com/
Place4Langs.com http://www.place4langs.com/ [For tutors of foreign languages]
Jobs4Tutors.com http://www.jobs4tutors.com/
TakeLessons.com http://takelessons.com/
TeachStreet.com http://www.teachstreet.com/
TutorLinker.com http://tutorlinker.com/
TutorNation.com http://www.tutornation.com/index.htm
Tutorz.com http://www.tutorz.com/
WiziQ.com http://wiziq.com/ [Distance Learning]
Agent K-12: http://www.agentk-12.org/
ESLemployment http://www.eslemployment.com/
ESL Job Project http://www.esljobproject.com/
TESall http://www.tesall.com/

Websites for Librarian Jobs
American Library Association [For Librarians] http://www.ala.org/education/latejobs/
ALA JobLIST http://joblist.ala.org
LISJobs http://www.lisjobs.com/r
Alliance Library System Job Listings http://feeds.feedburner.com/ALS-Jobs
Lib-bling.com Professional Postings http://www.lib-bling.com/
NASIG Jobs http://jobs.nasig.org/
SLA Career Center http://careercenter.sla.org/

Websites for Jobs for College Undergrads and Graduates
CollegeGrad http://www.collegegrad.com/
Alumwire.com http://www.alumwire.com/login.php
CoolWorks.com http://www.coolworks.com/
VentureLoop.com http://www.ventureloop.com/
iitjobs [For IITians in India] http://www.iitjobs.com/
College Recruiter http://www.collegerecruiter.com/

Websites for Blogging & Writing Jobs
http://bloggerjobs.biz/ BloggerJobs.biz
http://www.freelancewritinggigs.com/ FreelanceWritingGigs.com
http://jobs.problogger.net/ Jobs.ProBlogger.net
http://www.journalismjobs.com/index.cfm JournalismJobs.com
http://www.writersweekly.com/markets_and_jobs.php WritersWeekly.com
http://www.aboutfreelancewriting.com/ AboutFreelanceWriting.com (summaries of latest writing jobs)

Websites for Domestic Assistant Jobs
BabySitters.com http://www.babysitters.com/default.aspx
Care.com http://www.care.com/
HireAHelper.com http://www.hireahelper.com/
NannyAvailable.com http://www.nannyavailable.com/

Websites for Freelance Jobs
Talentdatabase.com http://www.talentdatabase.com/ [For artists, actors, dancers, musicians etc.]
Guru.com http://www.guru.com/
Dice.com http://www.dice.com/
Elance.com http://www.elance.com/
FreelanceJobSearch.com http://www.freelancejobsearch.com/
FlexJobs.com http://www.flexjobs.com/
GetAFreelancer.com http://getafreelancer.com/
All Freelance http://www.allfreelance.com/
Workaholics4Hire.com http://www.workaholics4hire.com/
FreelanceSwitch Jobs http://jobs.freelanceswitch.com/
ITLance.com http://www.itlance.com/
oDesk.com http://www.odesk.com

Websites for Information Technology, Design and Freelance Jobs
37signals.com http://jobs.37signals.com/
AuthenticJobs.com http://www.authenticjobs.com/
CompanyMeetCreative.com http://www.companymeetcreative.com/
CoNotes.com http://www.conotes.com/
Krop.com http://www.krop.com/
Coroflot.com http://www.coroflot.com/
ejob.com http://www.ejob.com/
FreshWebJobs http://www.freshwebjobs.com/
HotStartupJobs.com http://hotstartupjobs.com/
JobFloat.com http://jobfloat.com/
Jobpile http://www.artypapers.com/jobpile/
JobsAndGigs.com http://jobsandgigs.com/
LimeExchange.com http://www.limeexchange.com/
MostHired.com - Aggregates web jobs from various sources http://www.mosthired.com/
NeoHire.com (California tech related jobs) http://www.neohire.com/
nPost.com http://www.npost.com/
OdinJobs.com http://www.odinjobs.com/
RealWebJobs.com (Canada) http://realwebjobs.com/
SearchWebJobs.com http://www.searchwebjobs.com/
StartupAgents.com http://startupagents.com/
Startuply.com http://www.startuply.com/
StartupJobs.biz http://www.startupjobs.biz/a/jbb/find-jobs
StartupZone.com http://www.startupzone.com/
WebProJobs.com http://www.webprojobs.com/
Jobs for Programmers: http://www.prgjobs.com/
tech centric: http://www.tech-centric.net/
Just Tech Jobs: http://www.justtechjobs.com/
TinyTechJobs: http://www.tinytechjobs.com/
TechieCrossing: http://www.techiecrossing.com/
ComputerWork: http://www.computerwork.com/
ITJobs: http://www.itjobs.com/
Software Jobs: http://www.softwarejobs.com/
FreshWebJobs.com http://www.freshwebjobs.com/
Read/Write Web Jobs http://jobs.readwriteweb.com/
Authentic Jobs http://www.authenticjobs.com/
Krop Job Board http://www.krop.com/Krop.com
MeFi Jobs http://jobs.metafilter.com/
Slashdot Jobs http://jobs.slashdot.org/
CSS Beauty:http://cssbeauty.com/jobs/
MinistryCamp Job Board http://jobs.ministrycamp.com/
Python Job Board http://www.python.org/community/jobs/
CrunchBoard http://www.crunchboard.com/
GeekUp http://jobboard.geekup.org/
ComputerJobs.com: http://www.computerjobs.com/homepage.aspx
DevBistro http://www.devbistro.com/jobs
Recruiting.com http://www.recruiting.com/jobs
Australian Microsoft Recruitment Web Log http://blogs.msdn.com/ausjobblog/
Web Based Recruitment: http://www.web-based-recruitment.com/blog.htm

Websites for Local Jobs in the U.S.
The best option is Craigslist http://craigslist.org.

DallasJobs http://www.dallasjobs.com/
BestAustinJobs http://bestaustinjobs.com/
Los Angeles Times Jobs http://www.latimes.com/classified/jobs
California Jobs http://www.californiajobs.net/
Minneapolis http://www.startribune.com/jobs/

Websites for International Jobs
International Jobs http://www.intljobs.org/
Recruit.net http://www.recruit.net/
Bokrin.com http://www.bokrin.com/

Jobs in UK
Guardian Jobs http://jobs.guardian.co.uk/
AllTheTopBananas.com (job aggregator) http://www.allthetopbananas.com/
Agency-Seeker.co.uk http://www.agency-seeker.co.uk/
FuseJobs.co.uk http://www.fusejobs.co.uk/
JobNeters.com -A UK based job site aggregates ads from around the web. http://www.jobneters.com/
Workcircle.com http://www.workcircle.com/

Jobs in Canada
Eluta.ca http://www.eluta.ca/
Workopolis.com http://www.workopolis.com
Probook.ca http://www.probook.ca/

Jobs Elsewhere
Naukri - Jobs in india http://naukri.com
AsiaWired.com http://www.asiawired.com/career/index.asp
iHipo.com http://www.ihipo.com/
JobIsJob.com http://jobisjob.com/
Nushio.com http://nushio.com/
Zubka.com http://www.zubka.com/
Jobs In Dubai http://www.jobsindubai.com

Websites for Translation Jobs
OneHourTranslation.com http://www.onehourtranslation.com/
ProZ.com http://www.proz.com/

Websites for Hispanic Job seekers
LatPro.com [bilingual and Hispanic job seekers]. http://www.latpro.com/
iHispano [For Hispanic employers and job seekers] http://www.ihispano.com/
LatPro http://www.latpro.com/

Websites for Design Jobs
Coroflot: http://www.coroflot.com/
Aquent: http://www.aquent.com/
Artisan: http://www.artisantalent.com/
PrintQuest:http://printquest.us/.
Liason: http://www.liaisoncreative.com/
How Design:http://www.howdesign.com/jobs/index.asp?goto=closead
eMedia Staffing:http://emediastaffing.com/
Art Job:http://www.artjob.org/cgi-local/displayPage.pl?page=index.html
PrintLink: http://printlink.com/

Websites for Healthcare Jobs
Hire Medical: http://www.hiremedical.com/
Physician Jobs: http://www.physemp.com/
MD Search: http://www.mdsearch.com/
AMN Healthcare:http://www.amnhealthcare.com/Staffingrequest.aspx
HealthCare Job Bank: http://www.healthcarejobbank.com/
Hospital Jobs:http://www.hospitaljobsonline.com/
Physical Therapy Jobs http://www.automailer.com/tws/jobs/physicalTherapyJobsRSS.html
StaffPointe http://www.staffpointe.com
Reflectx Services http://www.reflectxstaffing.com/
Foundation Rehab Staffing http://www.foundationrehabstaffing.com/
Intelli-Source http://intelli-source.jobs/jobsearch.htm: [from nurse practitioners to orthopedic surgeons]
MedicalJobs http://www.expatmedicaljobs.com/med/medjobs.nsf/
AtlasMedical International http://atlasmed.com/ [Medical Jobs outside of the US]

Websites for Nursing Jobs
Nurse Universe: http://www.nurseuniverse.com/
Nurse Recruiter: http://www.nurse-recruiter.com/
Access Nurses: http://www.accessnurses.com/
Nurse Jobs: http://nursejobs.com/
4NursingJobs http://www.4nursingjobs.com/JobSeekerQuickRegistration.aspx

Websites for Advertising and Marketing Jobs
Ad Age: http://adage.com/talentworks/index.php
AdWeek:http://www.adweek.com/aw/classifieds/index.jsp
Jola: http://jolasearch.com/index_2.html
Roz Goldfarb: http://www.rgarecruiting.com/rga
TalentZoo: http://www.talentzoo.com/website/content
Marketing Jobs:http://www.marketingjobs.com/
Advertising Crossing: http://www.advertisingcrossing.com/
American Marketing Association: http://www.marketingpower.com/content966.php
MarketingHire http://www.marketinghire.com/
Websites for Management Jobs
The Ladders:http://www.theladders.com/
Executives on the Web: http://www.executivesontheweb.com/
Figure Jobs: http://www.6figurejobs.com/
ExecuNet: http://www.execunet.com/
hundredK: http://www.hundredk.com/
Manager Crossing: http://www.managercrossing.com/
BrandRepublicJobs http://jobs.brandrepublic.asia/
NumericJobs http://www.numericjobs.com/

Websites for Finance Jobs
Jobs in the Money: http://www.jobsinthemoney.com/
eFinancial Careers: http://www.efinancialcareers.com/
Quant Finance Jobs: http://www.quantfinancejobs.com/
Money Crossing: http://www.moneycrossing.com/
iHireAccounting: http://www.ihireaccounting.com/
AccountingCrossing http://www.accountingcrossing.com/sitemap.php
Investment Jobs Board: http://www.investmentjobsboard.com/
Totally Financial: http://www.totallyfinancial.com/
BankJobs:http://www.bankjobs.com/
Bank Staffers:http://www.bankstaffers.com/
Expat Finance Jobs http://www.expatfinancejobs.com

Websites for Sales Jobs
Sales Jobs: http://www.salesjobs.com/
Sales Trax: http://www.salestrax.com/
Sales Careers Online: http://www.salescareersonline.com/
Hot Sales Jobs: http://www.hotsalesjobs.com/
Power Sales Jobs: http://www.powersalesjobs.com/
Sales Jobs.net: http://salesjobs.net/
Insurance Sales Jobs:http://www.insurancesalesjobs.com/
Software Sales Jobs: http://www.softwaresalesjobs.com/
Just Tech Sales: http://www.justtechsalesjobs.com/
Sales Recruitment Jobsite http://www.salesrecruitmentjobsite.com/

Websites for Office Support Jobs
Jobs in the Office: http://www.jobsintheoffice.com/
Administrative Jobs: http://www.administrativejobs.com/
AdminCareers.com: http://www.admincareers.com/

Websites for Retail and Customer Service Jobs
All Retail Jobs: http://www.allretailjobs.com/
RetailFit: http://www.retailfit.com/
Retail Crossing: http://www.retailcrossing.com/
RetailChoice: http://www.retailchoice.com/
Job Loft:http://www.jobloft.com/
CallCenterCareers: http://www.callcentercareers.com/index.jsp
Customer Service Jobs: http://www.customer-service-jobs.net/
Call Center Jobs: http://www.callcenterjobs.com/
Hospitality Jobs Online: http://www.hospitalityonline.com/

Websites for Legal Jobs
FindLaw.com [find lawyers in your locality] http://www.findlaw.com/
For Law Firm Staff http://www.lawfirmstaff.com/
Law Jobs.com: http://www.lawjobs.com/ F
LawGuru: http://lawguru.legalstaff.com/Common/HomePage.aspx?abbr=LAWGURU
LawInfo: http://jobs.lawinfo.com/
BCG: http://www.bcgsearch.com/
Attorney Jobs: http://www.attorneyjobs.com/wps/portal/attorneyjobs/home
Legal Job Spot: http://www.legaljobspot.com/
Lawyers Weekly Jobs: http://classifieds.dolanmedia.com/LWJ01
Simply Law Jobs: http://www.simplylawjobs.com/
Paralegal.com: http://www.paralegaljobs.com/

Websites for Aviation and Transportation Jobs
AVJobs.com http://www.avjobs.com/
Airline Career.com http://www.airlinecareer.com/
AviationNation http://www.avianation.com/
FliteJobs http://www.flitejobs.com/
FindaPilot http://www.findapilot.com/
AviationTire http://www.aviationtire.com/
AirlinePilotJobs http://www.airlinepilotjobs.com/
AviationEmployment http://www.aviationemployment.com/
MaritimeJobs http://www.maritimejobs.com/
BootsnAll TravelJobs http://traveljobs.bootsnall.com/
TravelingCrossing http://www.travelingcrossing.com/sitemap.php
TruckDriver.com http://www.truckdriver.com/truck-driving-jobs/mx

Websites for Government Jobs
DisabilityInfo.gov http://www.disabilityinfo.gov/digov-public/public/DisplayPage.do?parentFolderId=500 Learn about your rights as an employee with a disability.
StudentJobs.gov http://www.studentjobs.gov/
Careers in Government http://www.careersingovernment.com/
GovernmentJobs.com http://www.governmentjobs.com/
GovernmentBids.com http://www.governmentbids.com/cgi/en/help.bidradar
GovJobs.com http://www.govjobs.com/
Military Connection: http://www.militaryconnection.com/government-job-board.html
Government Job Search http://www.federaljobsearch.com/
Government Job Listings http://usgovinfo.about.com/cs/jobs/a/jobfinder.htm
Jobs in Government http://usgovinfo.about.com/od/governmentjobs/Jobs_in_Government.htm
FedWorld.gov http://www.fedworld.gov/index.html

Websites for Green Jobs
Renewable Energy Jobs http://www.renewableenergyjobs.net/
GreenBiz Jobs http://jobs.greenbiz.com/education-jobs
GreenIndustryJobs http://www.greenindustry-jobs.com/Default.asp
SustainableBusiness http://www.sustainablebusiness.com/
Eco.org http://ecodotorg.ning.com/
TreeHugger Jobs http://jobs.treehugger.com/
Idealist.org http://www.idealist.org

More Industry-specific Job Search Sites
BeyondMotherhood.com [for mothers] http://www.beyondmotherhood.com/
Layoffspace.com [for the unemployed] http://layoffspace.com/unlog.php
MilitaryHire [Jobs for Military Veterans] http://www.militaryhire.com/index.servlet
Officer.com http://www.officer.com/jobs [Jobs for police officers]
Great Insurance Jobs http://www.greatinsurancejobs.com/
New Scientist Jobs http://www.newscientistjobs.com/jobs/default.aspx
Engineer Job Search: http://www.engineer500.com/javadb.nsf/MainHome
Mortgage Jobs: http://www.mortgagejobs.com/
Bookjobs.com: http://www.bookjobs.com/ [Publishing industry]
Vet.com: http://www.vet.com/veterinarian_jobs.html
Animal Jobs:http://www.animaljobs.com/
Workforce HR Jobs http://www.workforcehrjobs.com/
EnergyCentralJobs http://www.energycentraljobs.com/
Building4Jobs http://www.building4jobs.com/
CoolWorks http://www.coolworks.com/ [summer jobs and internships]
EntryLevelJobsite http://www.entryleveljobsite.com/

Read more from the Handbook project here and here 

Read The Successmanual Online | Get Our RSS Feed  | Follow us on Twitter



Share This Contact Publisher Permalink

Latest Comments Bookmark and Share


Would you like to comment on this item?
Join BigHow for a free account, or login if you are already a member




tags
civil rights (1) mobiles (1) google (15) google phone (1) martial law (1) death (3) ecofriendly (1) unsustainable (1) strike (1) money (2) scifi (1) advice (2) weird (4) violence psychology socioogy (1) list (4) atheism (1) graphic novel (1) directors (1) war veterans (1) novels (1)
more...


post type
News (11) Analysis (4) List (230) Opinion (9) Breaking News (2) Summary (6) Interview (2) Special Report (13) Roundup (6) Advice (5)  (1273) Guide (9)


Search News


Title

Tags

Type of Article

Locality

City

Country